Diversion in Portrait: How Travel Changed My Life

It all started with flashbacks.

Yesterday, I was checking and updating my social media accounts when I came across Traveloka’s blogger contest. Its theme “How Travel Changed My Life” struck me through. All of a sudden, flashbacks came until I was back in the time when I decided to put up my travel blog. Questions popped out as to why did I start a travel blog, I never get to answer it but I saw how travel changed me.

It freed me. Travel gave me the freedom to explore what is beyond the tiny place I occupy in this world. It allowed me to see the world in different perspective.

20161202_153825-0320161203_060404-01

It made me strong. Travel pulled me out of my comfort zone. It made me do things I was once scared of. For one who is too scared of the seas, to cross an ocean is an accomplishment. For one who is too scared of height, to climb a mountain is a milestone. Through traveling, I feel more in control of my life, have higher self-esteem and cope better when things get tough.

20161202_142553-01

Alibijaban Island, San Andres, Quezon

image-0-02-06-0395f5a09af299963254f2d06ce8cd498010cddfe81ddf34cf0192596668e045-v-01.jpeg

Mt. Maculot, Cuenca, Batangas

wp-image-118953048jpg.jpg

Mount Pulag Summit

wp-image-1073586375jpg.jpg

Mount Batulao, Batangas

A wider network. It is in travel that I get to meet people of different backgrounds. I get to share my story and I can hear theirs too and it is always inspiring. These people that I have once called as strangers have already occupied a big part of my life. It is a bit magical, isn’t it?

wp-image-443558633jpg.jpg

Mount Daraitan Summit with Karen, Inah and Judel

wp-1489494862181.jpg

Mount Pulag Summit (No Clearing)

I am not rich. Traveling is not a luxury but a worthwhile experience. I have engaged myself into a backpacking style traveler to move and visit one place to another. I pitch my tent rather than to rent a room. I bring canned goods rather than eat in an overpriced restaurant. Over the course of my traveling, I learned a lot about budgeting and different survival techniques in doing backpacking travels. As they say, there are so many things that you can learn outside of school, one of which is to travel the world even when you are not rich.

20161203_114441-01

I have fallen in love with life. I keep myself too busy from my career that there is really no time to have deep thoughts about the meaning of life but somewhere in my mind it says that there is mo much more in life. I started traveling to different places to find the purpose of my life. Along my way, I found the answer. The purpose of my life is to be happy and be able to share this happiness to the world. All the money in the world can’t buy the a meaningful life or give its purpose. It is only us that can define and discover who we really are.  By far, this is the best thing that travel did to me. No words can ever describe my feelings for falling in love with life and realizing that all of us are given a chance to make each day the most beautiful in our lives.

wp-image-1017346087jpeg.jpg

Ara’s Yard, Baguio City

wp-1478396488147.jpg

Mount Batolusong, Rizal

So you see, there is so much more about traveling. It is more than a journey beyond the abyss of the ocean and the pinnacles of the mountains. Cliche as it may sound but traveling has always been beyond one’s imagination. You just have to see it for yourself and be amazed! For at the end of the day, the portraits we took during our travels are the proof that we have diverted ourselves from the monotony of life.

 So how about you? How did travel change you? Inspire others by sharing it to the world through Traveloka 👦👦👦

#TravelokaPH #WhyITravel #TravelokaStories

___________________________________________________________________________________

FOLLOW MY BUDGET FRIENDLY ADVENTURES THRU:

INSTAGRAM: @THELONEBUDGETTRAVELER

FB PAGE: BYAJAYRO

Leave a Reply

